3 British Books to Look Out For in December

Our New Release Index is a fantastically functional way to keep track of your most anticipated new releases. It’s available exclusively to Book Riot Insiders. Subscribe to Book Riot Insiders!


December slows right down in publishing in both the UK and the US. But in the absence of quantity, there are some quality books making their way across the pond this month.

Elmet by Fiona Mozley, from 3 British Books to Look Out For in December | BookRiot.comELMET by FIONA MOZLEY (ALgonquin, 5th December)

Elmet was the surprise entry on the Man Booker Prize longlist this year, the debut novel by a York-based bookseller. The Economist called it “a quiet explosion of a book” and Stylist compared it to Wuthering Heights, with “its rugged landscape, violence and high emotion.” This is the story of a man and his two children, of fatherhood, of the bond between siblings.

 

THE CRIMS by Kate Davies (HARPER COLLINS, 5th December)

Imogen is the only one in her family who’s actually any good at being a criminal. She also decided to get out of that family business years ago. But when the Crims are accused of pulling off a major heist, she’s the only one with the know-how to prove them innocent. This is the first installment in a new trilogy billed as being perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket.

Protest: Stories of Resistance ed. Ra Page (Comma Press, 7th December)

“In the age of fake news and post-truth politics, this book fights fiction with (well researched, historically accurate) fiction.” Okay, this anthology has my attention. Its stories celebrate people power and are set against the backdrop of all kinds of British protest, like the Peasants’ Revolt of 1381 or the anti-Iraq War movement of the early twenty-first century. There’s even an afterword by historians, sociologists, and eye witnesses. Sounds like inspiring stuff.

What 2017 British books are you looking forward to? Find even more of our favorite British books from 2017 here

Book Riot has Avada Kedavra-ed the comments section, so please come chat with us on Twitter or Instagram!